An ebook can be read on different devices:

  • a computer;
  • a dedicated reading device or e-reader;
  • a tablet;
  • a smartphone.

To read an ebook borrowed from your library, your device and the reading application you use must be EPUB and PDF compatible. They must also be able to read a DRM (Digital Rights Management) protected file. This page lists the major devices and reading applications that are compatible with e-lending. To learn more on how to borrow and read an ebook on your device, see our quick start guide for your device

EPUB is an open format standardized by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) based on the XML language. It is designed to simplify on-screen reading. Its main advantage is dynamic reformatting, where the layout of text and images adjusts automatically when the font size is changed. This format ensures comfortable reading on any device, whether on a computer, a reader, a tablet or a smartphone.

Created by Adobe, the PDF format is now an open format standardized by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). This format guarantees uniform layouts (fonts, images, etc.) regardless of the medium on which the file is read. PDFs offer comfortable reading on a computer and most tablets but makes reading on an e-reader or smartphone more difficult, if not impossible.

Digital Rights Management (DRM) is a protective measure built into an ebook and designed to protect it from copyright infringement. It controls the various parameters of the digital loan, including its duration. Two DRMs are used in e-lending.

To read an ebook protected by ACS (the Adobe Content Server DRM), you must have an Adobe account, which you can sign-up for free, and a compatible e-reading application (see Reading Applications).


The LCP DRM (Licensed Content Protection) is an open solution developed by the Readium Foundation, which includes more than 80 members of the publishing industry. If you are using the Pretnumerique application on your iOS or Android mobile device, this is the DRM that is used. 

Tablets are multimedia devices that usually have most of the functions of a laptop computer. On the other hand, e-readers are dedicated reading devices. Their screen uses a display technique, called e-ink, that mimics the appearance of a printed page to lessen visual fatigue caused by reading on a screen. They are generally lighter than tablets and have longer autonomy (several days or even weeks).

E-readers

Compatible e-readers

DevicesEPUBPDF

Kobo
Aura, Aura ONE, Aura H2O, Aura HD, Clara HD, Forma, Glo, Glo HD, Libra H2O, Nia, Sage, Touch, Touch 2.0

(tick)(tick)

NOOK
GlowLight, GlowLight 3, GlowLight Plus 6, GlowLight Plus 7.8, SimpleTouch, SimpleTouch GlowLight(unavailable for sale in Canada*)

(tick)(tick)

PocketBook
Basic Lux 2, Basic 4 Black, Touch HD3-spicy copper, Touch HD3-metallic grey, InkPad 3 dark brown, InkPad 3 black, Touch Lux 5 Ruby Red, Touch Lux 5 Ink Black, Color Moon Silver, InkPad 3 Pro Metallic Grey, InkPad X Grey (unavailable for sale in Canada*)

(tick)(tick)

Bookeen
Bookeen Saga, Cybook Muse, Cybook Muse HD, DIVA, DIVA HD (unavailable for sale in Canada*)

(tick)(tick)

Tolino
epos 2, page 2, shine 2, vision 5 (unavailable for sale in Canada*)

(tick)(tick)

*Nevertheless, it is possible to purchase these devices from international stores (customs fees may apply).

Incompatible e-readers

Amazon Kindle

You cannot read an ebook borrowed from your library on Amazon Kindle e-readers (all models) because they are not compatible with EPUB files. Rather than supporting this standard format, Kindle readers support AWZ, a format developed and sold by Amazon only.


Tablets

Compatible tablets

DevicesEPUBPDF
Apple
iPad (2nd generation and higher), iPad Air, iPad Mini, iPad Pro
(tick)(tick)

Android
Acer Iconia, Amazon Fire*, ASUS ZenPad, Google Nexus et Pixel, Huawei MediaPad, Lenovo Tab, LG G Pad, Samsung Galaxy Tab and other models from other manufacturers

(tick)(tick)
Chromebook
Chromebooks that support Android applications (models sold in 2019 and later)
(tick)(tick)

Microsoft Surface
Surface Book, Surface Pro

(tick)(tick)

* On Android, our reading applications are only available through the Google Play Store. Since Amazon has its own app store, Amazon Fire tablets do not come with the Google Play Store installed. Thus the only way to access our reading applications on these tablets is by first installing the Google Play Store manually. The installation of this third-party product is complex and falls outside the scope of this documentation.

Non-compatible tablets

A compatible e-reading application must be used (see Compatible mobile applications) to read an ebook borrowed from your library on a tablet. These are downloaded from your tablet's application store (App Store on iOS, Google Play on Android). Some older tablet models do not allow you to download a compatible e-reading application. Such is the case for the following tablets:

  • Chromebooks that do not support Android applications (models released before 2019)
  • 1st generation iPad
  • Microsoft Surface RT and Surface Go

E-reading applications

Compatible desktop applications


Operating SystemSupported FormatsFeatureDRMPrice
ApplicationiOSAndroidLinuxEPUBPDFEarly returnACSFree
Adobe Digital Editions(tick)(tick)(error)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)

Compatible mobile applications



Operating SystemSupported FormatsFeatureDRMPrice
ApplicationiOSAndroidEPUBPDFEarly returnACSLCP Free
Pretnumerique.ca(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(tick)(tick)
Aldiko Next(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(tick)(tick)
Adobe Digital Editions(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(tick)(error)(tick)
Aldiko Classic(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(tick)
Bluefire Reader(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(error)
Bookari Ebook Reader(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(error)
Pocketbook reader(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(warning)(tick)(error)(tick)

Early return is not available on the Pocketbook Reader for iOS; only the Android version offers this feature at the moment.


Non-compatible desktop applications

Adobe Reader

You cannot read an ebook borrowed from your library with Adobe Reader, as this software does not support reading DRM-protected files. It is the DRM that controls the various parameters of a digital loan, including its duration.

Non-compatible mobiles applications

To read an ebook borrowed from your library on a tablet or smartphone, you should use a mobile application that can read a DRM protected file. The DRM controls the various parameters of a digital loan, including its duration. Many playback applications do not support DRMs, which is essential for digital library lending. Such is the case for the following applications:

  • Apple Books
  • Application Kindle
  • Application Kobo
  • Application Nook
  • Application Overdrive
  • FBReader
  • Moon+ Reader
  • Txtr

Un livre numérique peut être lu sur différents appareils :

  • un ordinateur;
  • une liseuse électronique;
  • une tablette tactile;
  • un téléphone intelligent.

Pour lire un livre numérique emprunté à votre bibliothèque, votre appareil ainsi que l'application de lecture que vous utilisez doivent être compatibles avec les formats EPUB et PDF. Ils doivent également permettre de lire un fichier protégé par un verrou numérique, Digital Rights Management (DRM) en anglais. Vous trouverez dans cette page la liste des principaux appareils et applications de lecture compatibles avec le prêt numérique. Pour plus de détails sur la manière d'emprunter et de lire un livre numérique sur votre appareil, consultez le guide de démarrage relatif à votre appareil.

 Quelle est la différence entre les formats EPUB et PDF?

Le format EPUB est un format ouvert standardisé par le World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) basé sur le langage XML. Il est conçu pour faciliter la lecture à l'écran. Son avantage principal est le reformatage dynamique, c'est-à-dire que la disposition du texte et des images se modifie automatiquement lorsque la taille des caractères est modifiée. Ce format assure une lecture confortable sur tout appareil, que ce soit un ordinateur, une liseuse, une tablette ou un téléphone intelligent.

Le format PDF, créé par Adobe, est désormais un format ouvert standardisé par l'International Oganization for Standardization (ISO). Ce format garantit une mise en page uniforme (polices de caractères, images, etc.) quel que soit le support sur lequel le fichier est lu. Ce format assure une lecture confortable sur un ordinateur et sur la plupart des tablettes, mais rend la lecture sur une liseuse ou sur un téléphone intelligent plus difficile, voire impossible.

 Qu'est-ce qu'un verrou numérique (DRM)?

Le verrou numérique, ou Digital Rights Management (DRM) en anglais, est un dispositif de protection intégré à un livre numérique conçu pour le protéger contre le non-respect du droit d'auteur. C'est ce verrou qui permet de contrôler les différents paramètres du prêt numérique, notamment sa durée. Deux verrous sont utilisés pour le prêt numérique.

Le verrou ACS (Adobe Content Server) est la solution offerte par Adobe. Pour pouvoir consulter un livre protégé par ACS, vous devez posséder un compte Adobe (un identifiant personnel gratuit) et utiliser une application de lecture compatible (voir Applications de lecture).

Le verrou LCP (Licensed Content Protection) est une solution ouverte développée par la fondation Readium, qui regroupe plus de 80 membres du milieu du livre. Si vous utilisez  l'application Pretnumerique sur votre appareil mobile iOS ou Android, c'est ce verrou numérique qui est utilisé.

 Quelle est la différence entre une liseuse et une tablette?

Les tablettes sont des appareils multimédias qui possèdent généralement la plupart des fonctions d'un ordinateur portable. Les liseuses, en revanche, sont des appareils dédiés à la lecture. Leur écran utilise une technique d'affichage, appelée papier électronique, qui imite l'apparence d'une page imprimée pour réduire la fatigue visuelle causée par la lecture sur un écran numérique. Elles sont généralement plus légères et ont une meilleure autonomie (plusieurs jours, voire semaines).

Liseuses

Liseuses compatibles 

ModèlesEPUBPDF

Kobo
Aura, Aura ONE, Aura H2O, Aura HD, Clara HD, Forma, Glo, Glo HD, Libra H2O, Nia, Touch, Touch 2.0

(tick)(tick)

NOOK
GlowLight, GlowLight 3, GlowLight Plus 6, GlowLight Plus 7.8, SimpleTouch, SimpleTouch GlowLight (modèles non commercialisés au Canada*)

(tick)(tick)

PocketBook
Basic Lux 2, Basic 4 Black, Touch HD3-spicy copper, Touch HD3-metallic grey, InkPad 3 dark brown, InkPad 3 black, Touch Lux 5 Ruby Red, Touch Lux 5 Ink Black, Color Moon Silver, InkPad 3 Pro Metallic Grey, InkPad X Grey (modèles non commercialisés au Canada*)

(tick)(tick)

Bookeen
Bookeen Saga, Cybook Muse, Cybook Muse HD, DIVA, DIVA HD (modèles non commercialisés au Canada*)

(tick)(tick)

Tolino
epos 2, page 2, shine 2, vision 5 (modèles non commercialisés au Canada*)

(tick)(tick)

*Néanmoins disponibles sur les plateformes d'achats en ligne étrangères, moyennant des frais de douane.

Liseuses non compatibles

Amazon Kindle

Vous ne pouvez pas lire un livre numérique emprunté à votre bibliothèque sur les liseuses Amazon Kindle (tous les modèles), car celles-ci ne sont pas compatibles avec les fichiers au format EPUB. Plutôt que de prendre en charge ce format standard, les liseuses Kindle sont compatibles avec le format AWZ, un format développé et vendu par Amazon seulement. Les tablettes Amazon Fire, dotées du système d'exploitation Android, sont cependant compatibles (voir Tablettes compatibles).

Tablettes

Tablettes compatibles

ModèlesEPUBPDF
Apple
iPad 2e génération et plus, iPad Air, iPad Mini, iPad Pro
(tick)(tick)

Android
Acer Iconia, Amazon Fire, ASUS ZenPad, Google Nexus et Pixel, Huawei MediaPad, Lenovo Tab, LG G Pad, Samsung Galaxy Tab et autres modèles d'autres fabricants

(tick)(tick)
Chromebook
Chromebooks supportant les applications Android (modèles commercialisés en 2019 et après)
(tick)(tick)

Microsoft Surface
Surface Book, Surface Pro

(tick)(tick)

Tablettes non compatibles 

Pour lire un livre numérique emprunté à votre bibliothèque sur une tablette, vous devez utiliser une application de lecture compatible (voir Applications mobiles compatibles) téléchargée à partir du magasin d'applications de votre tablette (App Store sur iOS, Google Play sur Android). Certains modèles de tablettes plus désuets ne vous permettent pas de télécharger une application de lecture compatible. C'est le cas des tablettes suivantes :

  • Chromebooks ne supportant pas les applications Android (modèles commercialisés avant 2019)
  • iPad 1re  génération
  • Microsoft Surface RT et Surface Go

Applications de lecture

Application de bureau compatible


Système d'exploitationFormats supportésFonctionVerrouPrix
ApplicationiOSAndroidLinuxEPUBPDFRetour anticipéACSGratuit
Adobe Digital Editions(tick)(tick)(error)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)

Applications mobiles compatibles


Système d'exploitationFormats supportésFonctionVerrouPrix
ApplicationiOSAndroidEPUBPDFRetour anticipéACSLCP Gratuit
Pretnumerique.ca(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(tick)(tick)
Aldiko Next(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(tick)(tick)
Adobe Digital Editions(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(tick)
Aldiko Classic(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(tick)
Bluefire Reader(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(error)
Bookari Ebook Reader(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(error)
Pocketbook reader(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(tick)(error)(tick)

Application de bureau non compatible

Adobe Reader

Vous ne pouvez pas lire un livre numérique emprunté à votre bibliothèque avec le logiciel Adobe Reader, car ce logiciel ne permet pas de lire un fichier protégé par un verrou numérique (DRM). C'est ce verrou qui permet de contrôler les différents paramètres du prêt numérique, notamment sa durée.

Applications mobiles non compatibles

Pour lire un livre numérique emprunté à votre bibliothèque sur une tablette ou sur un téléphone intelligent, vous devez utiliser une application mobile qui permet de lire un fichier protégé par un verrou numérique (DRM). C'est ce verrou qui permet de contrôler les différents paramètres du prêt numérique, notamment sa durée. Plusieurs applications de lecture ne gèrent pas ce type de verrou essentiel au prêt numérique en bibliothèque. C'est le cas des applications suivantes :

  • Apple Books
  • Application Kindle
  • Application Kobo
  • Application Nook
  • Application Overdrive
  • FBReader
  • Moon+ Reader
  • Txtr